July 2009 Burda

I know I’m a bit late in getting this, as the August one comes out very soon, but it had several things in it that I wanted to make, so I bit the bullet and bought it. I’ve heard through http://www.patternreview.com that the directions for Burda patterns are beyond horrible, but I figure since I don’t follow directions all that well anyway, I’ll probably be fine.

I started my first serious attempt at a quilt last night, we’ll see how it goes. I’m making one for my little man for this winter, as all of his blankets are for his crib and we’re getting him a “big boy bed” very soon. It’s not going to be a beautiful quilt by any stretch of the imagination, but I think he’ll like it, since it’s got a bit of all the things he likes–namely tractors and NASCAR. ๐Ÿ™‚ As a bonus, it got rid of some scraps I had in my stash, and what’s not to like about that? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Along with my new quilt, I’m writing on my research paper for class, doing my research, and reading “Pattern Fitting with Confidence” by Nancy Zieman. I think I like her method, especially because it doesn’t tear up the patterns, but also because it looks easy enough that anyone could do it–maybe even me! ๐Ÿ˜› I really feel a bit overwhelmed, so it’s nice to have some good reading material and a soothing creative outlet to help lower the stress….though I confess that I’m pretty darn tired at the end of the day after chasing around a 3-year-old and doing the other stuff!

Questions? Comments? Leave 'em below!

