Chicken Soup for the Cold

We’re sick. All of us. We’ve got probably the nastiest cold any of us have ever had. It sucks. So today, in honor of the occasion, I broke down and made some chicken noodle soup. Nothing fancy, just a single chicken breast seared with some canned mushrooms, garlic, onion, rosemary, and basil. Add in a smidge of white cooking wine to deglaze the pan, slice the chicken up, add about 3/4 of a can of drained carrots, add a carton of chicken broth (and an equal amount of water) and wait. I simmered it for about 45 minutes, then added my noodles. I warmed up some crusty rolls, and dinner was served.

In fact, in honor of Nick over at Macheesmo, I even took a photo of the soup.

Kryptonite to a cold

Kryptonite to a cold

I even pulled some frozen fruit out of the freezer (blueberries, strawberries, mango, pineapple, and peaches) and let them thaw before serving with some [generic] cool whip. Not too bad for being completely miserable, eh?

Well, methinks I have a bit of web surfing to do before I call it a night. I hope to be in bed as soon as I get my son down for the night. Wish me luck! 😛

Questions? Comments? Leave 'em below!

