Update

You may remember THIS post where I talked about an “instant gratification project”. Well, I finished the burp rags yesterday morning just in time to deliver them to their new owner. She was very excited to receive them, and thought that they looked very nice. πŸ™‚ I’m glad they turned out well, but I know that I will never again do that particular project–unless I’m getting paid very handsomely. I was so frustrated with this project because the diapers were so uneven on the edges and I had to do some creative rolling/folding to make them match up. It’s tedious work that’s hard on the hands (and feet from standing so long at the ironing board!) Which brings me to a serious peeve–where is the quality control on products like that? I paid over $12 for that pack of pre-folds, and the quality was sorely lacking! They weren’t cut, folded, or sewn in any sort of semblance of straightness, and the folds weren’t even consistent thicknesses. C’mon Gerber, get it together!!

On a happier note, I went to a sewing machine class yesterday, and even though it was just a “beginner’s” class, there was still a lot of stuff that I learned. I recommend attending one, because sometimes people come up with creative techniques that will absolutely rock your world! I learned how to make a gather that gathered effortlessly! No more fighting with the fabric to gather up! Woot-Woot! I even learned how to make my horrible buttonholes on my new machine look presentable! (Hint: use a heavy stabilizer, and a cording that you can make from your thread if you have IDT.) I’m actually really pumped about next week, because I can’t wait to learn more stuff like that! I got some cool new presser feet during this class too, an invisible zipper foot and two different sizes of flat felling feet, I’m excited about getting to try them out. πŸ™‚

Questions? Comments? Leave 'em below!

