Swayback blues….

I had my dress finished up by the time of the party, but when I went to try it on…………the back was a big ‘ol mess. šŸ˜¦ It needs a swayback adjustment like crazy, so I didn’t get to wear it to the party after all. šŸ˜¦ It’s OK though, I’ll have it ready to go by the next time I need a dress. So I’ll be able to wear it then. šŸ™‚

I had posted an invisible zipper tutorial video a while back, and it really came in handy on the dress. I was pretty excited that I had invisible zipper success! I’ve tried to do some invisible zippers in the past, but they didn’t come out totally “invisible”, there were always some little areas where the zipper kind of “peeked” through. Two things I learned though; PRESS THE EDGES OF THE FABRIC BEFORE INSTALLING THE ZIPPER (especially if you serged the edges); and also you can use wondertape to “baste” the zipper to the fabric, instead of hand basting. I’m not sure if that saves a ton of time, but it seems to help the zipper lay more flat as you stitch the zipper on. Course, not everyone’s hand basting is as awful as mine. šŸ˜‰

Yesterday I needed an “instant gratification” project, so I opted to sew up KS2856 in view C:

I need to post a review of the pattern, though there are already plenty on PR. I noticed something about the pattern that I didn’t see mentioned before though, and it may help someone else. The pattern suggests that you’ll need 1-5/8 yards to do the size medium. I made the medium with 1-1/6 yards, and while it was close, there wasn’t much waste. I’d probably make sure that I had about 1-1/4 or maybe 1-1/3 yards before I attempted it again though, because I had to do some creative cutting to get it to work. That may only work with a fabric that stretches in all directions though–my sweater knit had the same stretch both with and across the grain. I did use a fabric with a design on it though, which made it so that I couldn’t get TOO creative in my cutting. šŸ˜‰ My version is pretty cute if I don’t say so myself. šŸ™‚ I had the perfect fabric for it too. I’ll try to get a picture up tonight before I do my review of the pattern on PR.

One thought on “Swayback blues….

  1. Pingback: Projects–Picture Heavy! « Country Girl Couture

Questions? Comments? Leave 'em below!

