KS 3267 Part 2

OK, so here are some photos of the completed “wearable muslin”. I’m glad that it turned out to be wearable, because when I started, I didn’t really have high hopes of that being the case. Ignore the wrinkles, I haven’t had the opportunity to press these things very well, and I’m going to wait until they are hemmed to get too excited about it.

Note: These pants are black IRL, but in order to see anything detail they had to be washed out so they look like a funky grey-ish navy on my screen at least.

I know that my welt pockets aren’t perfect, but for a first timer, they aren’t too bad. I’m pretty happy with them. 🙂

null

I’m not sure about the front, there’s a teeny pucker in the center bottom of the zipper, but one of his RTW pants has the exact same thing, so maybe it’s fairly common? I’ve never noticed it until I really started looking on the one pair, so I don’t think it’s going to be the end of the world on these. I’m also a bit less than thrilled at the hook/eye and button attachment on the front closure, I was lazy and did it on my machine instead of by hand, and it pulled it a bit tighter than I would have liked. He’s going to wear a belt with them anyway, so it’s doubtful anyone will notice, but you’re always more picky when you sew it yourself, right? 😉

null

I’m for sure going to make the belt loops bigger on the next pair–his normal belt won’t fit, (it’s a western style belt) but his “business-y” belt will fit fine. He’ll probably be annoyed when he’s trying to get around in the morning though, because his western one is the default belt. 😦 Someday I’ll see about fixing them if it’s too bad.

Here’s the shot of the entire pants (minus the hems), for your viewing pleasure. 😛

null

Hopefully, I’ll be able to hem them tonight and toss them in the wash for quick wearing. I’m mostly waiting to see how much they’ll have to be hemmed, because I know that I can’t afford to take them up too much. 😕 Plus, I’m wanting to try that method of hemming them slightly more in the front than in the back, because I read somewhere that’s how it’s supposed to be done. 🙂

You can read my review of the pattern here.

Questions? Comments? Leave 'em below!

