Simplicity 2451 skirt

After finishing hubby’s slacks, I decided to see about starting a quick project for myself. I looked through my stash for a pattern that looked like fun, and I saw the Simplicity 2451 that I had purchased during my $1 pattern-buying-spree. Since I’ve been kind of desperately in need of a skirt, this was a no-brainer. I had purchased some fabric specifically for this skirt, but had no idea that it was supposed to need 1 and 5/8’s of a yard of fabric, and I had only gotten 1 yard. I wasn’t sure it would work out, but with the exception of the pocket lining, I somehow managed to squeeze a size 14 skirt out of 1 yard of fabric with small stripes on it. After those tedious slacks, this skirt has been kind of fun to put together. So far I’ve only got the front half (minus the yokes) finished. Here’s some pictures. 🙂

null

null

This middle picture is the closest representation of the color–it’s kind of a charcoal grey with lines of small lighter grey dots….hard to explain, but it looks really nice. I’m also loving my cute little decorative stitches by the pockets. Here’s a picture that shows the stitches just a little more closely.

null

I just selected one of the decorative stitches on my sewing machine, put in a topstitch needle, and used some silver metallic decorative serger thread. I know you aren’t supposed to use serger thread on a sewing machine, but I figured for such a small decorative detail, a little serger thread wouldn’t hurt anything. I’m trying to decide what to do for the rest of the topstitching, because I think continuing the little flowers would just be too much. Maybe just a triple-stitch? I do plan to keep using the silver metallic thread though, because it looks awesome against the fabric. 🙂

Hope you have a good evening, I am off to spend some time with the hubby. 🙂

One thought on “Simplicity 2451 skirt

  1. Beautiful! You’re going to love this skirt. I just sewed it using leftover denim from a recent jeans pocket. I used the jeans-style double topstitching, but your decorative stitching looks even better! I found the yoke to be particularly flattering for a curvy figure. Can’t wait to see your finished product!

    Like

Questions? Comments? Leave 'em below!

