Cooking vs. Sewing

I’ve been avoiding my sewing room. I’m not sure why, but I have. Instead of sewing, I’ve been cooking instead. Last night (Sunday) we had this fabulous dinner, and I thought I’d share it with you. Now I’ll admit that when compared these fabulous photos of a glorified tomato soup (me want!) my food doesn’t hardly even look appetizing. But it was! Gourmet? No. Delicious? Unbelievably so. 🙂

I made a pork loin roast–it was around 1.5 lbs, and boneless.The prep work was practically nonexistent. I broke out my trusty Betty Crocker cookbook and made sure that I knew how long and how hot to roast the…erm…roast. So anyway, while I didn’t use a recipe, I will share it with you.

Cookbook says to cook it for around 28 minutes/lb at 425*F, until it reaches either 160 or 170*F. I went with 170*, but I think it would have been even better at 160*. I also let it rest for about 15 minutes while we ate our salads to slice it.

I don’t measure any ingredients if I’m not baking bread or a cake, so I can’t help you there–just eyeball it, trust yourself to know what amounts you would like. Anyway, the prep work is as follows:

Trim excess fat from roast.
Sprinkle meat with a light-moderate sprinkling of garlic and onion powders.
Rub garlic and onion powders in.
Open a jar of Curley’s BBQ sauce and drizzle it over the roast, smoothing it around the top and sides and adding more sauce as needed to coat it nicely.
Toss it in the oven until it has reached the 160* mark, checking occasionally to make sure it doesn’t need more sauce.
The end result will look something like this.

I assure you that even though it looks kind of burnt, the sauce was nice and sweet with a hint of smoky–if you like that sort of flavor, you’ll really like it. Especially the dark spots.

When you’re finished slicing it, I recommend serving it with some baked beans and some peas, like this:

And of course, what meal wouldn’t be complete without dessert?

That is a pound cake I baked up while we ate our supper with strawberries and whipped cream. In case you were wondering 😉

While we don’t eat like this very often, it was definitely a nice change from the ordinary. As a bonus, if you can catch the meat on sale (like I did), it’s a really cheap dinner using some *GASP* canned baked beans (like Bush’s Best) and canned peas.

What? Don’t give me that look, I’m a busy mom! 😛

Questions? Comments? Leave 'em below!

