Pan-Fried Pizza

I was looking at this site earlier today called “Grocery Shrink” and read a few pages of her blog. While I was looking, I found this recipe that I thought was perfect for us this evening, especially since so little advance planning was needed. 😉 You can find her dough recipe here.

I sort of followed her concept, except:
1. I don’t have a griddle, so I used a non-stick skillet instead.
2. I only split the dough in half instead of quarters.
3. I added some canola oil to the pan like they have said to do to get a “deep dish style pizza” on America’s Test Kitchens. (Still not convinced of ATK’s method–just never turns out quite right for me…)

One thing I noticed that was missing from her “recipe” was temperatures. I cooked the first pizza on the stove over medium-high heat, but it cooked too quickly and got a few burnt spots on it (it wasn’t doughy though). The second one I cooked on a setting just lower than Medium heat and it was perfect (let the pan cool a bit between batches; it only takes a couple of minutes). I broiled them on the ‘low’ setting for my broiler on one of the middle-ish racks.

I used some homemade sauce and pepperoni as toppings since my sauce already had diced mushrooms and sausage in it. Very delicious! 🙂

Questions? Comments? Leave 'em below!

