To add piping or not add piping, that is the question

A few months ago, my husband’s workplace was clearing out some of their old stuff–office furniture–and I ended up with this:

Now, I’ll be the first to admit that this is an ugly chair. The upholstery is brown for Pete’s sake! It’s also grungy, which is easily fixed, but other than that, there is little wrong with it. It’s structurally sound (after I glue the front edge of the arm back to it’s post), the finish is in good condition (probably because it was so coated in gunk), and has very few scratches. And the bonus? It was free–it and 3 of its friends that are in similar shape, since no one wanted them, we got our pick of the last 7 chairs, and we took 3 like the one above and the 4th one is an old-school leather office chair in near perfect shape.

But, I digress….the point of this post is to ask whether or not I should add piping to the front edge (like what was on it originally). I’m kind of leaning towards the “not” because I’m lazy and don’t want to do the extra work (pathetic, huh?) In my defense though, I have this fabric:

that I found at Jo-Ann’s yesterday and I’m having the stripes run from front to back. I made the effort to make it so that the stripes would match up and I’m not sure I want to break up that matching with the piping. Whatcha think?

6 thoughts on “To add piping or not add piping, that is the question

    • Well, I have the old piping, which gives me a bit of an idea of how it’s done, but I’m still not sure whether I want to try and do it or not. I may leave it off of this one and when I decide to refinish one of the others give it a try then. And I think you’d do fine with it, I’ve seen some of your work. 🙂

      Like

  1. I think the piping is a very professional look but agree it’s a pain in the…

    That being said, if you REALLY wanted to add the piping you could (1) purchase pre-made piping in a matching color or (2) cover cotton cording with the main fabric cut on the BIAS – then you don’t have to worry about trying to match it up.

    Looking forward to seeing what you decide! 🙂

    Like

  2. I really like that chair and think it will look great with the fabric you’ve chosen.

    I think it would look good either way – piping or no piping. Omitting the piping might give it a more modern, streamlined look.

    Like

    • I opted to leave it out. It’s thisclose to finished, but I can’t seem to find a decent staple gun. 🙄 Story of my life, LOL! 😛

      Like

  3. Pingback: The Story Chair « Country Girl Couture

Questions? Comments? Leave 'em below!

