Vogue 1152~Rebecca Taylor

I traced off the pieces for Vogue 1152, after being inspired by the version that Kristin @ Very Prairie made a while back. I’m going to make it into a top, like she did, but I’m definitely going to raise the neckline a little. For the banquet I’m hoping to finish this for showing that much boob might be frowned upon, and honestly, I’m not sure I’m keen on having quite that much cleavage showing anyway. 😯

A warning: this pattern has A LOT of pieces, so it might not be for the faint of heart! Since it has so much ease (one reviewer said that the envelope indicated she would be a 16 and she made a 12!!) I opted to make a straight 14, though I should probably do a 12 in the shoulders, since I’m just fat, not broad-shouldered. πŸ˜‰ But, I’m lazy and don’t want to bother with grading it out or making a muslin. I know, I know, this will likely spell disaster, but to have it done in time for Saturday night, I’m going to be rushing a bit to finish it up. Here’s a picture of the fabric I plan to use, it’s a Crepe de Chine as suggested on the pattern:

Sorry the color is a bit off, it’s somewhere between dark teal and hunter green. I think it’ll be pretty, and I’m still trying to decide if I want to do the contrast like they suggest. Currently I’m leaning towards no, but I change my mind about things about every 15 seconds, so who knows what I’ll end up doing. πŸ˜‰

3 thoughts on “Vogue 1152~Rebecca Taylor

  1. I made this dress for my step-daughter over the summer. It does have a lot of pieces but I remember it going together quite easily. She’s very tiny so I just made the smallest size and that seemed to work well. She did wear a lace cami underneath because of the low V πŸ™‚ Here’s a photo –
    Haley & Lauren

    Good luck with it. Can’t wait to see how it turns out! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Pingback: UFO Roundup « Country Girl Couture

Questions? Comments? Leave 'em below!

