Garlic Butter Mushrooms

Nick over at Macheesmo linked to a recipe the other day for Garlic Butter Roasted Mushrooms, and when I clicked on the link I immediately started craving these babies…

Except…when I went to the grocery store last night, I didn’t have the recipe with me. So while I brought home a half pound of mushrooms, it wasn’t enough to make the full recipe. I also didn’t have capers….or lemon juice (did you know that stuff expires?!)….So, I did what I always do in this sort of situation–I winged it. And boy am I glad I did!!! They went beautifully with our steak and even my husband who was totally skeptical claimed they were probably the best part of the meal. So if you decide you want to make them, here’s what I did:

Preheat oven to 450°.

Soften 1 stick of butter in the microwave, then cream it when it comes out (this basically amounts to stirring it really fast with a fork until it gets nice and fluffy). After it’s creamed, gently fold/mix some garlic in…my recipe for garlic butter says something like 3 cloves, but I substitute garlic powder, of which you’ll need 1/8 of a teaspoon or thereabouts. Then I sprinkled some onion powder on for good measure, a dash of salt, and mixed it up real good. (Since I planned to use this same butter for the corn on the cob, I opted to add some chives, but you don’t have to.)

Then I just dolloped a couple of tablespoons of the butter on the mushrooms with the tablespoon of canola oil (remember, I was roughly halving the recipe), stirred it all up, and popped it in the oven. I didn’t really get a “sauce” like the original recipe did, but the mushrooms were O.M.G.-good, and went fabulously with the steak…which I think I might have already mentioned.

I would say more–like, about something sewing related–but, I can’t just yet. Maybe next week? 😉 Anyway, in case I’m not here again until well after the holidays, I hope ya’ll have a very merry Christmas and a fun New Year! 🙂

One thought on “Garlic Butter Mushrooms

Questions? Comments? Leave 'em below!

