Burda 7-2009-113 Shorts

I’m in love. These shorts are fabulous. Really, really, fabulous. šŸ™‚ I finished these up last night, and while I had a couple of issues during sewing them up, I think they were mostly user-generated issues. (Read: I screwed up.) I even picked up some fabric to make two more pairs because I like these so much. I was wearing them around in their unfinished state last night (while I decided if the length was going to be OK), and I couldn’t get over how comfortable and flattering they are. They turned out to be longer than I thought they would be, they aren’t long by any stretch of the imagination, but they are about 1.5 knuckles away from fingertip length, so I’m not too worried. The fabric feels weird under you fingers, but feels delicious on your legs–they feel soft, smooth, and cool to the touch. šŸ™‚

Here’s my Pattern Review:

Pattern Description:
From the magazine:
Sporty styling, elegant colour. This summer, shorts with turn-ups/hem cuffs, waistband and belt carriers are a major basic. Wear ours with high heels and your tanned legs will look endlessly long!

Pattern Sizing:
European sizes 34-42 – I made a blend of 40 and 42.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yep, except for the tanned legs and the color–but I do have some in the works that will be a similar color. šŸ˜‰ The tanned legs? Probably not gonna happen. šŸ˜›

Were the instructions easy to follow?
In a word? NO. However, if you’ve made pants/shorts before, there’s nothing earth-shattering about these. Well, except maybe the crotch seam part, but that could have totally been my error and not that of the pattern. Just use lots of pins, a lot of patience, and some slow stitching and it will come together.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I thought they were cute and somewhat stylish, which are two words that haven’t described me very well in recent years. (I’m working to change that.) They were also relatively simple to make up.

I was unimpressed with the instructions, though I knew full well going in that Burda instructions are lacking. I also didn’t care for the fact that below the crotch seam on the back pattern piece there was the jagged fold lines, but there weren’t anywhere else. I’m going to rectify that on my next pair of shorts, because those jagged fold lines make the whole project much easier. (You’ll see what I’m talking about when/if you trace the pattern out.)

Fabric Used:
It was a khaki-colored cotton with a 3% spandex content, it was sort of like a lightweight stretch twill. Anyway, I love it because it feels cool in an area that is kind of prone to…*ahem*….overheating. (Sorry if that’s TMI!)

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
None for this iteration, but I’m going to make some little button straps to go on the outside of the cuff on the next round.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I’ve already got the fabric washed and waiting to make 2 more pairs, so I’d say that I’m planning to sew it again. šŸ™‚ And yeah, I definitely recommend this one to others.

Conclusion:
Ding, ding, ding! We have a winner! šŸ˜‰

And here are some rather interesting pictures for your viewing displeasure. šŸ˜‰

No I don't know why the button is off center, it's not IRL...

Gotta love that camera angle...

Such an embarassing view...I nearly didn't post it.

4 thoughts on “Burda 7-2009-113 Shorts

Questions? Comments? Leave 'em below!

