A Finished Object! Butterick 5497

I hope everyone that had a holiday this past weekend had a fabulous one! I know we did. πŸ™‚

Anyway, I started working on this pattern pretty quickly after finishing my first pair of Burda shorts nearly a month ago. I wore it twice before it was even finished :oops:, which made it so that it took even longer to finish up. I finally inserted the elastic around the underbust and hemmed it over the holiday weekend, so it can officially go into my closet. In short, I really like it. The sleeves feel weird (though I’m a sleeveless kind of gal well into the freezing temps of winter), but they were part of what drew me to the pattern to start with. Try to ignore the wrinkles caused by being left in the dryer for a day and a half…

Front view

 

In the front to prevent the v-neck venturing well into indecency, I took the cheater’s way out and topstitched it. I think it looks fine this way, though I’d probably find another method next time.

I was also drawn to the back of this view, because it’s got a cut-out! I’m a bit of a sucker for those, and this one is cute without being revealing. πŸ™‚

And, for once, I can say that this one looks better on me than the dressform. πŸ˜‰

This is entry #1 into the interesting knit top styles sew-a-long. πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “A Finished Object! Butterick 5497

  1. Cute top!! I’m glad to see this version. I made one of the other views with a round neckline that was a total flop. After seeing yours, I just might dig that pattern back out to try this view.

    Like

    • I’d recommend it, I hate the inside “finishing” but that’s mostly just my own personal taste, which can easily be fixed next time around. Other than that, stitch the elastic in the sleeves so that it doesn’t slide and you should be all set. πŸ™‚ I’m bummed that the round neckline one was a flop, I was hoping to give it a try with the back from this same view. 😦

      Like

  2. I think its cute!!! Aoutthe front gapbeing top stitched, i wonder if you jsut top stitch the front flap to the back , if it would be enough to prevent gaping… That part is suppose tp have front stitch anyways!

    Like

    • Thanks for the compliment! I tried it that way first, but it wasn’t quite strong enough to inspire my confidence, LOL! I’m not the most careful person first thing in the morning. πŸ˜‰

      Like

Questions? Comments? Leave 'em below!

