A Culinary Adventure

Or something like that. These past few weeks, I’ve been kind of on a cooking binge. We’ve tried quite a few new recipes, some good some….well….not so good. In our opinion anyway.

First, we tried the Filipino BBQ Pork Skewers which were absolutely delicious–when you throw in the fact that they only use 4 points per serving, well, lets just say that makes them even better. Guilt-free (or at least less guilty) is always awesome. πŸ™‚

Next up we tried Chicken Thighs with Artichoke Hearts & Feta. This was a BIG miss for us. The chicken was OK, but the artichokes (which I like in the dip) were nasty and kind of sour tasting. If this sort of dish is your thing though, go for it, because like most of these recipes it’s low guilt.

Not quite next (but it was on the same search page) was the Lemon Feta Chicken with Oregano. I’d give this a solid B if it were a student. The idea was good, and it wasn’t that we didn’t like it, we just have a similar recipe (using pork) that we like better, and I’m going to guess has a similar “guilt” rating. I am, however, going to totally rip off the cooking method for the chicken using my recipe for the seasonings. Because cooking chicken thighs under the broiler rocks. πŸ˜‰

The Thai Chicken and Pineapple Stir-Fry was something I desperately wanted to love, but just couldn’t bring myself to even halfway like. But behold! It looks so beautifully delicious in the picture! It has to be scrumptious! But alas, not even my husband (who actually likes bell peppers, as opposed to me who was just willing to give it a shot just because it looked delicious) said that there were WAY too many bell peppers. So yeah, HUGE miss on this one. 😦

Thai Coconut Curry Shrimp was another one of those that was a miss for us. Despite the fact that I think I could totally sniff the curry paste all day, this came out kind of bland. It was sad, because it smelled SO GOOD while it was cooking, but just didn’t deliver the flavor that the aroma promised.

Now, before you think they were all misses (except the first one), we also tried a not quite so guilt free roast recipe. This stuff is orgasmically delicious. Seriously. You’ll be fighting over the leftovers it’s that good. It’s Flaherty’s Signature Pot Roast, and it cooks in a pressure cooker! It’s done in like 45 minutes! How freakin’ awesome is that! Do you think I used enough exclamation points?! Here’s some more!!! Really, you WANT to cook this, no, scratch that, you NEED to cook this. It’s a divine intervention from my computer to yours.

Oh, and I can’t forget about supper tonight. We bought a Fuji apple, and used it to make grilled cheese like Picky Palate did here. You don’t even need fancy-shmancy bread, I just used the stuff from the grocery store–potato bread I think. Now, because I like you, I’m going to give you some advice. DO NOT look at any other recipes on that site. They don’t make towels big enough for the drool, and you love those pants, right? Right?! Did I lose you? Oh dear. Well, I tried.

Next up? I’m planning to make these low-guilt chocolate chip cookies and these chocolate breakfast muffins. πŸ™‚ You can’t go wrong with chocolate, right?

Questions? Comments? Leave 'em below!

