As promised…

If sharing is caring, oversharing must mean that I love ya’ll. Or something like that.

Anyway, so my first night of trying out cloth pads has come to an end (obviously), and I think it’s something I could see myself doing regularly. Maybe not during the day, but at night I think it will be a great option. They only take about 30 minutes from start to finish to make up (probably less if you are more speedy than I am), so it’s not a big investment of either time or materials if you want to give it a try.

They also stay put better than I expected. This may not be the case if you wear slick fabric panties to bed, but who wears those during that time of the month anyway?! Mine don’t have any velcro or anything, just a single snap on the “wings”, so it was just the friction of the flannel keeping them in place.

Confession: I have no idea how well they would hold up under a heavy overnight (or daytime) flow. Mine slows down significantly at night (thank goodness for small blessings), but it’s still enough to stain stuff, so better safe than sorry. I’d say give it a try and see how it works for you. You might want two or three layers of quilt batting though–depending on your needs/preferences.

Now, I’ve overshared about all I can manage, so ya’ll are on your own after this.

6 thoughts on “As promised…

  1. You’ve definitely given me something to ponder. I hate to admit it, but the whole “cleaning them” part just turns me off. Especially living in small quarters, there isn’t enough space to get them “out of the way”.

    However, it seems like the benefits outweigh the perceived cons. Thanks for honest “review” 🙂

    Like

    • You’re welcome. If it helps, I just tossed mine in with the cleaning rags (they have their own teeny basket in the laundry room) after hitting them with some spray and wash. I don’t forsee anyone pawing through my dirty cleaning rags. 😉 Then just stuffed them in the drawer with my pantyhose/bras/etc.

      Like

  2. I like cloth pads too. Never was a pad user until I was told not to for specific reasons one cycle and I was reminded why I hated them. After seeing them around on the internet, I thought why not? I have an old towel that goes in the middle of my flanel. I find they stay put really well and I can’t even be bothered with snaps. I fold my wings around so I have clean fabric against me if it’s just a little spotting.

    Like

Questions? Comments? Leave 'em below!

