Hubby’s Christmas Present Update

I did manage to get this finished in time, he even wore it for Christmas Eve! πŸ™‚ He looks pretty studly in yellow, so it’s a win. The only part I don’t like is that the fabric wrinkles like a bitch in the wash. 😦 Which is part of why it took so long to get pictures. I wasn’t too quick to get it ironed up. 😳 I even learned something new while making this, well, a few things actually.

  • If you use a stiffer interfacing it’s IMPERATIVE that you clip the corners off of the collar interfacing before you iron it on or your collar points will be absolutely hideous.
  • Probably would be a good idea to clip the bottom corners of the stand interfacing off too.
  • My machine will start to stitch backwards at inopportune moments if it has a wad of lint in it…I think I resewed the collar topstitching about 4 times because the points of the collar kept making my machine stitch backwards at the turn. 😑
  • Square cuff plackets are easy to do, but they’re not nearly as pretty as their pointed counterparts.

Anyway, here it is:

Doesn't fit my dressform very well, LOL!

See? Not as pretty as the pointed ones.

 

Someday I'll get brave enough to cut the yoke stripes the other way.

Even though it’s not perfect, I’m pretty happy with the way it turned out. It looks good on him, and fits him nicely, so I think it’ll get a fair amount of wear. Maybe not as much as it would if it were blue, but there’s only so many blue shirts a guy can have in his closet. πŸ˜‰ I still can’t believe it went from uncut to finished in like 2 days. That’s really fast for me.

7 thoughts on “Hubby’s Christmas Present Update

  1. Thanks for the nice comments! It’s always gratifying to sew something for someone when they appreciate it and actually make use of the garment. πŸ™‚ And for the record, my husband doesn’t seem to think a guy can have too many blue shirts in his closet either, but sometimes you just kind of have to gently nudge them out of their comfort zone. πŸ˜‰

    Like

  2. Congratulations! I got hubs’ shirt done in time for xmas but then had no buttons—he did wear it once I got them on, at least. Your shirt looks great! And thanks for the interfacing tips. πŸ™‚

    Like

Questions? Comments? Leave 'em below!

