Ruffle-licious Racerback

OK, for the first time ever, WordPress ate my post. I sure hope it was tasty. 😑 😦 Hopefully this doesn’t become a regular occurrence. So, I’ll do my best to recreate the tasty snack of a post.

So when does a pattern become your own design? At what point could I say that I essentially drafted it myself? Here’s my finished garment, front and back:

But I used View C of this pattern to make it:

My version is a far cry from the original after all the changes I made to it.

  • Added significant FBA
  • Chevroned (is that a word?) the center front
  • Loosened the overall fit
  • Added a bottom band
  • V neckline
  • Racerback
  • Facings made of interfacing using this tutorial for front & back to make a clean finish.

If someone were to ask me where I bought the pattern, what would I tell them? I can’t say “oh it’s just view C of KS 3497”, because it doesn’t even look like that anymore. So anyway, that’s just something I was pondering this morning.

If you decide to work with ruffled fabric, I even have some handy tips for you courtesy of the lovely Janet from Needle Nook Fabrics. I seem to have misplaced the actual sheet she gave me, so I’ll just go by memory and hope that I don’t leave out something important.

  • Do NOT put you ruffle fabric in the dryer–apparently the tumbling action is hard on it.
  • Use WASHABLE SCHOOL GLUE (I had excellent luck with the liquid school glue vs. a glue stick) to glue down each ruffle. Don’t use the “glue-all” type, it’s NOT the same thing!
  • Do NOT iron the fabric after it’s been glued–you’ll have to wash the glue out first (got that from Elmer’s website, I’m taking their word as gospel truth.)
  • Use a cool iron setting, silk or wool is your best bet, but test it on a scrap first, just in case.
  • Soak it when you’re done to get the glue out, then wash it (I’m planning to do gentle cycle inside a sweater bag–I don’t hand wash).
  • I found it was easier to use a rotary cutter instead of scissors, but I wouldn’t buy one just to use it for this one project.

I’m actually planning to do another version in a normal fabric that’s a bit outside my comfort zone color-wise. We’ll see how quickly I get that done, since I have to clean the sewing room first.

I hope ya’ll have a great weekend!

5 thoughts on “Ruffle-licious Racerback

  1. I love your top. Thanks for passing on the ruffle tips.
    I think you could say that the top was inspired by the pattern, but I agree, it is your pattern now, it has only a nodding acquaintance with the Kwik Sew top.

    Like

  2. Beautiful, beautiful. My favorite details are the fabric, the racer back, and the chevroned (making up new words is fun!) front. I hope you get lots and lots of wear out of it!

    Like

  3. Great top! Love the way you chevroned those front ruffles. I have the same issue with when can I call a pattern “mine.” My t-shirt started as a Burda pattern, but I have altered every single seam on it (!), so I’m just going to claim credit for it from now on.

    Like

Questions? Comments? Leave 'em below!

