Nemesis: Paint!

I just finished putting on the second coat of paint in the bathroom, so it’s finally starting to look like a room now. Hooray!

You ever have something where no matter how much you “practice” you still suck at it? That’s how I am with painting. But, since I didn’t get paint in my hair (as far as I know), I’m marking this as a success! We chose a robin’s egg blue color for the paint–Ace Hardware’s “Timeless”, which is kind of bright right now, but once we get the vanity/cabinets painted and the hardware up, I think it’ll tone down. (And it seems to tone down as it dries as well.)

We also got our flooring in the other day, so it’s really coming together. The flooring is more brown-ish than I expected based on the sample, (I have the worst luck with samples) but I like the look of it anyway, and it really does make the room feel bigger, so that’s a win. I can’t wait to see how everything looks when it’s complete. I’m sorry I don’t have any new pictures to show you, but I’m hoping that here very soon I’ll have a bunch for you–especially the before/after ones. I’m keeping you in suspense I guess. πŸ˜‰

Anyway, as you may have guessed, I live in the plains area. We’re supposed to be hammered with storms making hail and tornadoes out the yin yang. We’ll see how it goes, if you don’t hear from me in a few weeks, I’m probably homeless or something. Which would really suck considering all the effort we’re putting in on this bathroom, but that’s life here in the central U.S.

If you live in the path of these storms, take care; you know the drill.

7 thoughts on “Nemesis: Paint!

    • You can hit the button now if you still want to. We made it through unscathed, and in fact were just outside the line of fire for the most part. Almost every storm went around us. πŸ™‚

      Like

  1. Glad to hear the storms went around you. Home renovations just seem overwhelming to me, probably because my in laws have been involved in the few we’ve done now that I think about it. But the end result sure will be worth it, I’m looking forward to seeing the finished product.

    Like

  2. I can’t imagine living where tornadoes are a fact of life. We lived in the Canadian Prairies for a couple of years and I was paranoid all summer, every summer. It was one of the reasons we left the flatland and moved back to BC. Where we have earthquakes. I know, no logic.
    😎

    Like

    • I think it’s all in what you are comfortable with. I can deal with tornadoes, but hurricanes? Eesh! And earthquakes kind of freak me out too. At least with a tornado you can hide in the basement for a few minutes until it’s over….

      Like

Questions? Comments? Leave 'em below!

