Pimp my ride!

Assuming that the weather is cooperative, you might see this when you’re looking at me.

That’s right, I’m at my folk’s for harvest. This picture is of my FIL’s combine, but the one I’m running for dad looks fairly similar. (Google “Case 2188” if you want to see pictures of my exact machine, I have some pictures, but I don’t have my camera.) We’ve been kind of hanging out staring at each other for a couple of days (OK, not really, there’s been work going on, just not in the field) because of some rain, but hopefully today we’ll be able to fire up the Big Red Beasts and start going again.

If you’ve never been around a wheat harvest, you should do it. There’s a lot of places that do ag tourism, and I highly recommend trying one of those places to see what all goes in to the making of your food. And harvest will give you a healthy appreciation for all the hard work that goes into that loaf of bread that you cringe over when you pay for it at the grocery store (and for those farmers that you cuss when you’re stuck behind them on the highway–trust me, we’re cussing you for being in such a damn hurry to get to your grave and trying to take us with you). Around here, (and I would imagine everywhere) harvest is a race against the clock. The weather is usually a bit rougher this time of year, and weather delays can really break you, since you can’t cut if the wheat isn’t dry. So remember, be safe and be patient, we’re going as fast as we can.

So anyway, I’m sorry that I haven’t been commenting much, if at all. I haven’t been able to get on the computer as much as I normally do. I am trying to read everyone’s posts though when I have time, but I’m way behind. I’m missing my sewing room, and honestly, I’m kind of missing home in general. I want my own bed back! I am enjoying reading everyone’s posts about how productive they’re being though, so keep up the fabulous work! πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Pimp my ride!

  1. Oh no! A holiday near a wheat field is what kicked off my hay fever 4 years ago, lol!
    It looks like hard work, but kind of fun too. I’ll cross my fingers for fine dry weather for you. No good for anyone if it all rots.

    Like

  2. I remember riding in my grandfather’s combine when I was a little tyke. Harvest time is hard work, but it’s also great fun… the grain augers, driving to the elevators & riding in the machinery!

    Like

    • Yes, I love harvest, probably my favorite farm “season”, but I’d probably be more excited if my combine’s a/c worked properly. Guess I should just toughen up though, since my grandpa ran one that didn’t have a cab or even an umbrella when I was a kid. πŸ˜‰

      Like

    • No worries, you’d be surprised the tiny animals we’re able to see (and avoid) from the cab. I think I saw a half dozen baby deer and countless rabbits of various ages, and the combine is slow enough they have plenty of time to move out of the way.

      Like

    • Definitely do a search to see if there’s any Ag Tourism near you. Some aspects are really awesome and definitely worth seeing if you get the chance. Just be sure to wear jeans and sensible shoes. πŸ˜‰

      Like

Questions? Comments? Leave 'em below!

