Guess I’m gonna need to go shopping…

The Great Sewing Room Cleanup of 2013 is finally complete. The last thing I wanted to do before I quit was to organize the fabric wall. As you might recall, it looked like this: 😳

Before *eek!*

You might not know this, but there was fabric that I’d forgotten I even had stashed in there, and it was difficult to fit the extras that were previously on the floor in there, but I managed. In fact, after doing some folding, and rolling and better stacking, I think I have some room for a few more pieces of fabric!

 

After!

Now, for complete disclosure, I did discard a few scraps that weren’t big enough to keep (probably about 2 yards total–they mostly were really small scraps), and I opted to donate a few pieces that were of the “what what I thinking?!?!” variety (probably around 6 yards). However, I probably added about 10 yards of fabric that had previously been on the floor, so I’m calling it a wash. 😉

We’ll see how I like the rubber band method as I try to use the scraps, I tried to keep from bundling anything too tight so as to avoid major creasing. For the aesthetics though, rubber bands make my remnants look much more organized and possibly more likely to be used!

I hope that these pictures will inspire you to take on that resewlution of clearing the sewing room. And while you do that, I’m going to do some fabric shopping–mustn’t let that precious shelving be wasted!! 😉

12 thoughts on “Guess I’m gonna need to go shopping…

  1. Great job! I’ve been thinking about rolling my fabric on ‘bolts’ a little like they do with patchwork fabric… then again I actually need to tidy up my room and sort it all out before I get ambitious and think about how to store my fabric!

    Like

    • I’m hoping it doesn’t leave some freaky creases, but I love the way it looks on the shelf, and it keeps them from sliding around and having the little “strings” (which I cut off) from getting tangled up. I would say start with whatever is most daunting–for me, it was getting stuff off the floor, but the fabric wall was a close second. Once you get that out of the way, it looks easy and manageable and you can just plow right through. 🙂

      Like

  2. Wow, what a great transformation! I’ve been telling myself for 6 months now that it’s time to organize and clean my sewing room. I’ll have to keep your ideas in mind when I finally get around to doing it!

    Like

Questions? Comments? Leave 'em below!

