It’s so hard…

To make yourself sew when the weather is absolutely gorgeous!! We’ve been having beautiful days–sunny, 70-75*F, minimal wind, perfect. It’s so nice to leave the windows open and get fresh air in, play t-ball/frisbee/catch/etc. with my son, and go for nice walks around the neighborhood. So I’ve been doing that. And, I must confess, sitting a fair amount of time in my chair (next to the open window) following Twitter/Pinterest. I honestly don’t know how some people are so prolific on there every single day, do they ever get to go outside? Are they eating? I guess, to each their own, but as for me, I’m going to do better about spending less time on there. I always feel a bit down on myself afterwards like “you wasted 2 hours looking at pictures and pithy comments instead of playing with your rapidly-outgrowing-the-playing-stage son?! What kind of crap SAHM are you, anyway?!”

I do have a quick sewing update. I have finished the bodice for McCall’ 6503, though I think when they said it was “easy” it was a terrible lie*. I think I made it 4 times in my attempt to make it once! And then, when I started to make the skirt, I happily chopped into my fabric before realizing that I cut the wrong size, so now I have to find a different fabric to make the skirt part with. *Note:* This may have actually been a blessing in disguise, because I’m not sure that this would have been a good pairing of fabric to pattern to other fabric(s). I think it might have been too heavy for the delicate fabrics on the top (which are basically some cotton lawn and an interlining of batiste or lawn.)

*Or I just always make things harder than theyΒ  need to be. You pick. πŸ˜‰

So anyway, I think that today I’m going to head off to the lumber yard to buy a couple of boards to make up some nightstands. I found some from Ana’s website that I think will be perfect for our bedroom. πŸ™‚ I might grab a couple of the supplies needed for the closet reorganizer that she has too. πŸ˜‰

To my fellow Americans, enjoy your holiday weekend, but don’t forget *why* we’re celebrating, and to non-Americans, have a fantastic weekend!! πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “It’s so hard…

  1. Ugh I hear you on the wasting time on Pinterest thing. I’m a teacher and this week we had our big three day end of year testing for the kids. I’m used to being up on my feet, teaching and being busy all day, but this week I just sat and proctored while the kids took their tests. Bored out of my mind! I think I wasted 3-4 hours on Pinterest, it really does numb your brain after a while.

    Like

  2. I agree whole-heartedly. It’s so difficult to stay inside with this BEAUTIFUL weather. I think it’s great that you’re spending so much time playing outside with your son – sewing can wait for a rainy day πŸ™‚ Good luck with the nightstands. I’d love to see how they turn out!

    Like

    • Clearly I spoke too soon, LOL! Now we’re getting to the yucky hot muggy days that are summer in the heartland.

      We’ve got most of the pieces cut out for the nightstand (ran out of lumber), got them sanded, and we’re almost ready for assembly. I thought I might give it a try this afternoon if it wasn’t miserable outside.

      Like

  3. I so agree, I feel so bad, when I get on the computer and have wasted 2-3 hours looking at pintrest or blogs??ooops.. But, once you get to looking the hours have flown by.. I am trying
    to limit my self, especially since the weather is getting pretty.. It won’t be too long, until it gets so hot and humid, I can’t go out..
    Can’t wait to see your new night stands.. Have fun..

    Like

Questions? Comments? Leave 'em below!

