Taggy blanket

Yesterday I was in the city to pick up some supplies for bra-making, and on my way home I spotted the new Hobby Lobby. In that instant, I knew I was going there, and I knew I was going to make a taggy blanket. I’d kept eyeing the tiny ones at Target and kept thinking for $9 I could easily make one (or two or three!) and make them in a reasonable size (does anyone else think those things are ridiculously small to be called a “blanket”?) and in whatever colors I wanted.

And by in my own colors, I mean this eye-searing matchup.

And by “whatever colors I wanted”, I meant this eye-searing matchup of orange and lime green.

Cute, no? Still not big enough to be a “blanket”, though it would probably adequately cover Scotch* in the car seat in a pinch (like when I forget a bigger blanket).

So if you are looking to make one of these for some little ones in your life, I discovered a couple of useful tips that I thought I’d share with you.

  • Don’t. Seriously. Leave this maddening fabric to the industrials that get serviced every day and factories with janitors that clean up after it. It’s like banging your head on a brick wall–it’s not fun and people start to doubt your sanity.
  • If I haven’t talked you out of it, pin the tags like this so you can place them and still see them once there sandwiched in. I just eyeballed the placement, and I think this method got me pretty close.
Pin the tags like this for easy positioning and you can see their location even when they're in place.

Can you spot my pinning error? Grrr.

  • Another tip would be to cut it with a rotary blade. And be sure to push down hard on your cutting ruler thingy–otherwise the bumps make it hard to cut straight.
  • My tags were 3″ long, I’d say that’s about the perfect length for the 3/8″ seam allowances I used.

Anyway, have fun. I know that I will be as I make the second one for laundry day backup. 😉 But they’re just so stinkin’ cute!

*P.S. I recently updated my About page if you’re wondering what Scotch is.

One thought on “Taggy blanket

Questions? Comments? Leave 'em below!

