Things that tick me off Thursday

TNT’s. We all are searching for them, aren’t we? Whether you have a basic block that you are altering to make into multiple different shapes and styles or a favorite dress pattern that you’ve made a half dozen times, the end result is the same; a well-fitting garment that makes you feel good and love to wear.

So why do we as sewists apologize for making multiples of something? Even RTW has like 5 styles in several colors/prints/tiny appliques and no one bats an eye if you buy a shirt you like in 2 or 3 colors. Heck, every RTW t-shirt (unisex) that I own is the same cut–and often the same color (heathered grey)–with a different logo on it. Same with jeans. Does it bug you to buy 2 or 3 pairs of the same jeans if they fit well and are in a wash you like? So why do we apologize for making the same thing several times if it’s a garment we feel good in?

If it doesn’t bother you to wear the same cut of clothes, it doesn’t bother me–so quit apologizing! Make it because you look fantastic in it or love the style, and don’t be sorry for it.

Happy sewing! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Things that tick me off Thursday

  1. I like making things 2-3 times. All that time spent tracing and adjusting has to be worth something. It’s so much faster while I still have the pattern out. I think the trick is to do something different with it the next time – a different fabric, a different colour, print vs solid, maybe changing the neck line slightly or picking up one of the variations… I’m with you, I wear the same things over and over and buy clothing that is really similar because I LIKE the first one a lot.

    Like

Questions? Comments? Leave 'em below!