Is there such a thing as a too big worktable?

It may surprise you, but the answer is yes. Hear me out.

I had a giant table in the garage that never used to get used because it was *gasp* too big. It got shoved into it’s space in the back corner of the garage, took up a ton of space and stayed covered in crap and couldn’t easily be moved to a new location to actually be used anyway…so it didn’t. It just stayed covered in crap and then when I needed a flat surface, I resorted to my plastic sawhorses with a piece of scrap plywood on top that’s less than ideal and hard to move around once it’s set up and covered with the current project. So when a Kansas storm rolled in and I wanted to park my car in the garage, I couldn’t.

In my sewing room, I have one of those J-A craft tables with the big rotary mat, and it’s kind of the same way. Sometimes that table holds all the stuff I don’t have good storage solutions for and then I can’t use it when I want to cut out a project without a major reorganization that generally involves shoving crap onto the floor or whatever.

A year or so ago, I spent the entire summer working on cleaning out and creating organization in the garage. I cut down that giant table that was always relegated to the back corner, and put on a bunch of onboard storage. We’ve used that table a TON since then. It’s so handy, and it still is a huge table–3.5 ft x 6ft, instead of the full 4ft x 8ft–but it’s on good casters, has a full set of drawers on one end with full extension slides, and a shelf underneath that holds toolboxes and the shopvac. I put magnet strips on 3 sides to hold small pieces mid project so they don’t have to sit on top and get knocked off or roll away. It’s not perfect, but I’m really happy with how useful it is now.

Ever since then, I’ve been thinking about how to fix my sewing room table too. I don’t know that I want the table to be smaller, because it fits my big cutting mat perfectly, but some additional storage options would be hugely beneficial. So I’ve been looking on the internet, as you do, and have found a couple of options from Ana White that I think will make my space less cluttered and more functional.

https://www.ana-white.com/woodworking-projects/craft-table-top-modular-collection

For me, the current winner is this one, but she has others that might also be good too, depending on your space. Now I just need to gather the supplies and get to building.

In the meantime, if you have suggestions on storing PDF pattern pieces printed on regular paper and taped/glued together I’m looking for a solution, rolling them into tubes isn’t working all that well. The glued pieces come apart, and the taped pieces can’t be ironed with enough heat to get the curl out. I’d love to do the projector thing and do away with pdf printed patterns altogether, but that’s not looking like a solution I can afford at present.

5 thoughts on “Is there such a thing as a too big worktable?

  1. Exciting plans! We are discussing moving a computer desk (L shape) down to my sewing room and my main objection was that its construction makes it impossible to store anything under. So my husband came up with a plan to move the supports beneath the table so they’re flat, forming a shelf, instead of the current angle. Now I’m quite excited. As for the cut pattern pieces—i fold mine up and store them in large Manila envelopes. Alternatively—if you aren’t planning on reusing the pattern in the short term, you could just chuck the pieces. You can always reprint. Or, if it’s a TNT, trace it onto lightweight interfacing or that Swedish tracing paper, and store that. (Note: I wouldn’t be able to make this call myself. So I just tell myself I’ll deal with the folds/splits/tape when it comes up. 😅) good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    • 🤦‍♀️ I didn’t even think about Swedish tracing paper. That’s what I should probably do. I use the Manila folder system (or a 3 ring binder for the ones I REALLY like) already anyway. I guess I was just thinking that the paper is so nice and sturdy, but that’s its catch 22…

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah, it’ll be great for having more machines set up, or at least more working space between them. But my current desk has a bunch of drawers and this one has zero, so that’s going to take some thinking. That table looks so cool!

        Liked by 1 person

        • If you only need a couple of light duty drawers, you could hang a couple of keyboard trays and use those, the desk may already have at least one. Just put some plastic trays on it if needed to help sort stuff. Real drawers are finicky to build, not hard, but finicky. And drawer slides are probably the hardest part, but if you buy or borrow a jig it makes it easier.

          Like

Questions? Comments? Leave 'em below!